I believe that when a tripod fires you use the front face or the tripod to determine the line of sight and fire within a 180 degree arc parallel to the face piece.
I have been playing that it is NOT weapon with a turret. This has important implications for where a tripod can shoot when immobilized, has a critical weapons hit, or when it has a critical mobility hit and needs to move to bring a target into view. I didn't see anything in the rules or errata.
Hmm good thought. I was of the opinion that the body of the tripod could only turn that arc so as the 'eye' can target the admited extremely flexible tentacle with the heat ray. I can see both sides of this and your point about the importance is well taken. Any thoughts out there on this please??
We have played that the Martian does NOT have turret ability. A tripod can only draw LOS to fire weapons from the front midpoint of the stand in a 180 degree arc. This means the humans can get behind an immobilized tripod and not be shot at by that Martian.
In the tourney last summer, it was strictly the front 180 degree arc. Just a two cents worth, I think we should probably stick with that as it forces more tactics on the Mars player to watch his rear and screen against ambush. Also have an on table reserve (standoff Grenadier works) to kill any humans that get behind an immobilized tripod.